Sign in to follow this  
questsea73

Laoag + Tuguegarao + Legaspi travel-to info desired...help

questsea73

I live in Cagayan de Oro.  I probably will need within 30 days to travel to see friends in these three cities.  They are all serviced by Cebu Pacific whom I have flown on several times in last 2 years with no problems.  But the air fare is substantial ...7000 pesos plus one way to Laoag for example.  I imagine I can bus myself between the two northern places, Laoag being on northwest coast of Luzon, although Tuguegarao appears it would be a long bus ride eastward. Legaspi is in south Luzon I believe a 10-12 hour bus ride there from Manila area.

I have no experience with Luzon except Manila which I avoid as possible and Angeles dating back couple of decades.

I am in my early 70's but active and am fairly receptive to longer bus rides if on a bus with good seats and a/c for long haul trips.  Although my back is not so great on 4 hour plus trips over bad roads.

I have not been on any boat trips here, so no knowledge of them.

Has anyone had any experience, tips on travel to/from those places by other than flying in?  If so, would you share them?

If I flew to Clark and bused myself north along west Luzon coast highway to Laoag what would be involved timewise?  Is road good?  Are there express a/c buses on that route?  If I did that I might stop at Baguio for a few days.

Ken

Agustin

I'm subscribing to this thread, I have also noted that airfare to Laoag is pricier than it is to anywhere else in the in the Philippines, both with PAL and Cebu Pacific.

hagler

I have pretty extensive experience in Luzon so will help as much as i can. When I am in the PI I have a place just north of San Fernando, La Union and I ride a lot throughout Luzon on a big bike as well as small ones. There are not too many roads or tracks I havent been down at some stage over the years.