profits101

I'm an artist and part of what I do makes use of soft woods that can be chain-saw carved. Here in the USA, what really works well is California Redwood, followed by cedar, and then last choice most pines. Redwood is by far the best given the minimum grain and knots, and also here it is well-dried. Last time I was in Cebu I went to look at Central Lumber in the Topilo area... but they were closed for lunch. What do you think? Can I find this type of soft wood, or something close to it over there? I am also thinking there is probably zero kiln-dried wood so I will probably have to be more careful about putting it together to prevent separations... Thanks for any input you have relative to this type of wood, and wood supply in the Cebu City area...

RogerDuMond

I'm an artist and part of what I do makes use of soft woods that can be chain-saw carved.

Just a warning here. Are you aware that it is illegal to import, buy, sell, or possess a chainsaw in the Philippines without a permit?

http://www.denr.gov.ph/policy/2003/dao2003-24.pdf

• Like 4
profits101

Whew, Thank you for that information! Although I didn't get into Central Lumber, I did go over to Belmont Depot in Mandaue - a really good commercial level tool store. They carry Sthil chainsaws. They were very helpful with all my questions - and I'll learn more about what you have advised me about.

Again FWIW, here's a link to Belmont:  http://www.belmontdepot.com

profits101

Also... here is a little more context on what you mention... 

Chainsaw owners urged to secure permit
by Restituto A. Cayubit
May 18, 2014

Tacloban City, Leyte — The Department of Environment and Natural Resources office in Region VIII (DENR-8) is urging chainsaw owners or holders who have not yet registered and secured permits to do so and avoid penalties.