Building My First House in the Phils

I figured I would start my first post in this section and share some information on my experience of building a house in the Philippines.

A little information about myself:

I am 38 years old.

I have a master electrical technical degree. I have a Master Electrical Contractors Licence, A Journeyman Inside/Outside Wireman Card. I have over 20 years experience working in residential, commercial and industrial contruction.

When buying a property, In my experience most of the best deals are not listed in the newspaper or on the Internet. I went to the area I want to live and asked the locals who owned what. I knew I wanted a property on the beach so I would ride my mountain bike down even the smallest paths that may lead to a beach.

After 3 years, I finally found the place that was owned by an older couple (German man with a Filipina wife) . He was a industrial tool salesman and amateur botinist. For over 20 years he collected plants and trees from all corners of the world, before the governments made so many restrcitions on what seeds or cuttings could be transported across international borders. He would come to the Phils, plant some seeds and cuttings, then go back to Germany for most of the year. The plants and trees thrived in the tropical Philippine conditions. So this property was like no other property I seen in all my findings.

There s a single story house, two small guest houses and a small workshop on the property. The property is surrounded by a 10 foot concrete wall. I live in one of the guest houses and my maid in the other while I am doing the contruction. The full time 24/7 guards stay in the workshop.

The roof of the main house was leaking or in parts eaten by termites so the first thing I did was rip off the entire roof. I made a deal with some of the locals to work for free in exchange for scrapping the galvinized and stainless steal.