How do you structure your learning?

I just started learning cebuano (speaking only, not interested in writing, but want to be able to communicate with my maids and other worker around).

My question is, how do you start? Do you start writing dialogs on a white board in cebuano and try to memorize questions and answers?

I have no clue how to start... I know lots of words, but want now start with communication anyhow, but I am stuck due to the fact that I have no idea what comes first.

I have help from a native speaker, but she also does not really know how to start. verbs first? Lists of nouns? Or direct some sentences I could use within my house?

colemanlee

If it was me and I really wanted to learn, I would just hire a tutor.  Language is not one of my forte's so If I really wanted to learn I suppose I would start with the basics and go from there.

This forum has some learning courses listed on the portal page on the right side that you might wish to try.

If it was me and I really wanted to learn, I would just hire a tutor.  Language is not one of my forte's so If I really wanted to learn I suppose I would start with the basics and go from there.

I already tried various tutor, even a high school teacher, none had any clue about how to study a language, that's why I was hoping somebody who actually learned with a proper tutor can give me some hints about how the tutor planned the individual sessions, what was learned in them etc. I am also only interested in the spoken language, not the written. I noticed that theres a huge difference. I know a little "grammar", but when people speak, they seem to completely ignore any grammar :)

I have had the experience of learning languages several times and found a couple of tricks that helped me. First, I learned numbers. Sounds too easy, but this also leads to idioms of how numbers are used.

For example, in Korea, numbers used are both Chinese numbers and Korean numbers. Usage depends on how the number is being used.