Sign in to follow this  
SkyMan

Newb Solar Questions

SkyMan

Ok, so I'm trying to get a handle on this solar deal and want to figure out what parts do and are required so I came up with a couple scenarios to educate myself.

Scenario 1:  I buy a panel, say 100W, and a 12V LED light, say 5-8W, and connect them.  Will this burn up the light?  What would I need to do this correctly?

Scenario 2:  Same as scenario 1 except instead of light I connect a 12V deep cycle battery.  I'm guessing the battery will eventually explode from overcharging.  Is there some battery charge regulator to use?

I'll probably have more questions when these are answered.  Thanks.

• Like 2

Ronin

Scenario 1: I buy a panel, say 100W, and a 12V LED light, say 5-8W, and connect them. Will this burn up the light? What would I need to do this correctly?

I'm no expert but that's never stopped me before...

If you could hook the light directly to the solar panel, it might work, during the day :D

You need some type of rechargeable light, here's two that I bought on amazon that seem to work really well (note the light stick needs a usb power bank - available at almost any mall or online)

http://www.amazon.com/Goal-Zero-14101-Stick-Light/dp/B0045XRK06/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1386900945&sr=8-5&keywords=goal+zero

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004DMVR94/ref=oh_details_o09_s00_i02?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I'm using portable solar panels to charge USB battery banks and then using the banks to charge phones, tablets, lights and run small USB fans at night to make sleeping tolerable.

Scenario 2: Same as scenario 1 except instead of light I connect a 12V deep cycle battery. I'm guessing the battery will eventually explode from overcharging. Is there some battery charge regulator to use?

You'll need a solar charge controller that connects between your battery and panel to regulate the charging.

• Like 1

Woolf

you need a charge controller like this one