Hey all,

I'm a newbie here. A Kiwi ex-pat married to a Filipina and we are living in Cebu city.

I've been trying (very informally) to learn Visaya for years and don't seem to be getting very far. So  now that I'm living here I'd live to get some lessons in conversation to prompt me to converse more in Visaya/Cebuano.

I keep reading that Angie is the person all knowledgeable on this topic. So maybe Angie can help me out?

I basically want to do 3-4 hours a week of mainly conversation lessons in the afternoons or early evenings (like 2 hours twice a week). Terms and pay are negotiable. It's not too seryuso...just for fun, keep the brain ticking and so I can be a bit more immersed in local culture here.

If anyone knows a teacher with some experience teaching Visaya could you kindly post here or email me on xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (email removed)

Cheers...

Painter

Edited by Paul
Please read the rules of this forum. Email address removed.

Mate, Angie, I am afraid, passed away some time back.

Welcome to the forum, though. 

Please read the rules, prior to posting, as a new member. Rules here may be a bit different than other forums you are on?

Jim Sibbick

I'm ....... married to a Filipina and we are living in Cebu city.

You have a live in teacher already. I am sure you have already learnt some words and phrases without thinking about it.

Half Baked

I've learned that, along with being American, I'm part "Bastos", too. Ay Jusko! (sp)

• Like 1

Thanks for your reply Paul. I guess that wasn't the best introduction post then. Sorry to hear that Angie passed on.

Yes Jim I know quite a lot of Visayan words already and my wife helps but I can't seem to get conversant, so my thinking is some conversation lessons from a language teacher would help.

There is a place in Ayala called Speedtalk. Anyone had any dealings with them?

Just for the record, I am also looking for a language teacher.