Buying and using a DVR in Philippines

I wonder if any members have been able to set up a Digital Video Recorder here.  I have no experience with using a DVR.  

Presently, I have Dream Satellite with a flat screen Samsung TV.  That's it.  I have a separate speaker for the audio portion, but otherwise, no other add-ons.

I am unsure if it is even possible to use a DVR here.  Furthermore, where I would buy one.

I assume the Dream box I have will not permit any sort of channel selection beyond what I do now (use the remote control).  

I would like to record a program which may be on at hours I am not around to watch the program.  I am hoping a device can be used to simply connect to the Dream Box, and set the DVR to record at a specified time.

Of course, since I know next to nothing about these devices, I may be completely out of my league and use of a DVR is not possible here.

Any advice on locating a DVR and setting one up?

Theres a good chance cdr king would have one.

just connect it between your sat box and the tv. mostly all the leads will be in the box

Majorsco

You would have to use the record by time feature since the DVD would not be able to change the channels. It would work like a VCR.

For it go change channels you would have to have one with a satellite tuner for dream. Not likely to have one available so either use a PC with dvr sw or a any dvr with time recording.

Six years ago in the US I had DirecTv with an HD DVR.  I could watch record 2 HD channels and watch a third at the same time.  But that was six years ago so maybe wait another 15 years and you can have that here.

Cignal satellite seems to have the most advance system but unfortunately no DVR yet that I know of.

If you can find a simple DVR you could set it record at a certain time and leave your tuner set to the right channel.  Hardly a simple click record from the menu but better than nothing.