Mindanao Escape Map

BossHog

Recently received from a relative in the states:

An escape map for Mindanao (AAF cloth chart) that was issued to US aircrews during WWII.

It's printed on silk and has a lot of creases. Obviously it was stored folded up since who knows when. The colors are still quite good though.

Scared of using a clothes iron on it to get the creases out.

I'd like to frame it under glass for display. However the reverse has a map of Borneo on it which I'd hate to cover up. Any ideas on how to display/preserve this thing?

I have no idea, regarding your question. But, I would love to see a photo of it. 

That is an interesting piece of history.

I would research the methods of removing the creases and give the display options a lot of thought.

Better to keep it safe until you can do something that will not harm it, rather than act in haste and ruin it.

• Like 1

I'm no expert but I would think some kind of light steam might loosen the folds in the fibers without damaging the color.

• Like 2
jtmwatchbiz

for me i would lay it out (depending on the size) on top of a piece of clean dry glass, then rest another piece of glass on top with a few books resting on the top glass to give it some weight. i\m sure over the course of a few weeks the creases would flatten out without risking any other intrusive contact method.  

BossHog

It's about 3' by 2'.

Unfortunately, the very northeastern part of Mindanao where i live doesn't appear on the map.

I'll get some pictures up when the kiddo finds the camera.

My uncle sent it. His father, my maternal grandfather, was a B-24 pilot in the Pacific during the war, so I'm assuming it was his. Need to find out more.

Googling turned this up:

http://www.etsy.com/listing/156381678/wwii-aaf-silk-chart-philippine-series

It's the same series. They must have issued a lot of these and it doesn't appear particularly valuable. Very cool though.

Edited by BossHog