Obtaining a 13a visa in a 3rd country

BossHog

I've been doing the balikbayan stamp shuffle for way too many years.

Think I'll apply for the 13a visa.

The thing is that I'm heading to another country (not my own) to work for a while and thought it might be easier to process this outside of the Philippines. Also, I understand there's no year-long probationary period if this visa is obtained abroad.

My questions are:

1. Is it possible to accomplish this in a third country and roughly how long should I expect the process to last?

2. What documents should I take with me besides my passport and NSO marriage certificate?

If I need a NBI/FBI/police clearance which country do I need it from? The Philippines, the USA where I'm from, or from the country in which I apply for the visa?

3. Is a health check needed and, if so, should I have it done in the Phils or abroad?

4. Will either my wife or I, or both of us, be required to appear at the embassy in person or is it possible to do this via mail?

I usually stay in the Philippines for several years at a time and work abroad once in a while for 6-12 months or so. In my case would there be anydrawbacks to getting the 13a other than dealing with the application paperwork.

Thanks in advance.

ps. I tried the search function but didn't find a matching topic. Also, I've already looked at the embassy website which has no information on the13a (just the SRRV and quota visas) and they haven't responded to my emails.

ps. I tried the search function but didn't find a matching topic. Also, I've already looked at the embassy website which has no information on the13a (just the SRRV and quota visas) and they haven't responded to my emails.

I'm guessing your case is rare enough you'll not find much searching.

1. Is it possible to accomplish this in a third country and roughly how long should I expect the process to last?