Sign in to follow this  
pittsburghguy

can i use the va in philippines?

pittsburghguy

hey does anybody know if i can use the va in the philippines this is my situation. i am an vet was in airforce 4 years so i do use the va in usa. i am disabled but it is not service related i had my neck fused and have degenertive disks so i have to take pain pills for pain management i would like to move to philippines preferbly cebu but i do need my pain pills and other meds my income will be limited to 1230 an mounth but i will not be able to afford my meds other then going threw the va or medicade with that type of income also i have read that phil. doctors do not prescribe pain pills in phil. and meds are expensive could anyone let meknow if i could go to va in phil. for my heath care

JamesMusslewhite

Sorry the VA facility in Manila only covers Service-connected conditions, and does not allow walk-ins. This is the only VA facility outside the US to do so. The closest VA facility for non-service connected conditions is in Guam I believe.

• Like 1

KadoKaru

I am a vet and have been to the Manila VA. many times and from my experience the VA.in Manila only accepts or treats service connected Vets.And even then it's different in Manila if you have a sevice connected disability then if you have the same disability using a VA,Facility in the States.It will be very difficult if even possible to find pain medications like you need in the Philippines.If you were service connected for your disability,the VA. in Manila would have some of the same pain medications as stateside VA.'s.In the Phil it's not unusual for a filippino to sit through a root canal or tooth extraction even without novocaine and definitely they don't leave the dentist's office with pain meds.About the best available at the pharmacies will be "Gardan".

Edited by KadoKaru

Edwin