Sign in to follow this  
questsea73

Vegetables, etc. in the P.I.

questsea73

I am new to PI--2 months here now.  I am not a vegetarian, but do some cooking in USA, particularly Asian.

Some observations:

(a. When you go into the supermarket and go to the fresh fruit and vegetables section, be prepared to be shocked at the puny size and sometimes anemic appearance of the vegetables.  I have been in several supermarkets in Cebu and Davao now and they are all about the same, although one SM supermarket in Davao seemed to have better appearance vegetables.  Almost across the board the size of the vegetables could be described as stunted, miniature, midget vegetables.  At least compared to the vegetables common to and grown in the USA.  Here potatoes are slightly bigger in general than large ping pong balls, carrots are stubby 1/3 size normal USA ones, Spanish onions are maybe 1/10 the size of USA ones in supermarkets, lettuce is puny if present, and on and on it goes.  If what I read previously is correct many of these vegetables are imported from China.  Really pitiful tonight: I say a prominently Dole-branded, heat-sealed 1 ear of corn heat-sealed so the package conformed to the shape of this average size ear of corn--this may be a delicacy, premium priced?

(b. Very few dishes available in mall restaurants have more than a hint of vegetables....maybe a few slices of red pepper, couple of nicks of carrot, minor onion, no corn, etc.  About the only offering I note is french fry potatoes offered as a side dish for about 40 pesos at fast food places.  There may be some local vegetables I am unfamiliar with names offered however on the menus of some restaurant.  But look around you at what people are eating....puny, crispy skin chicken, dye-enhanced hot dogs, fatty pork....look in the freezer compartments in supermarkets...nothing but meats and ice cream.  .