A_Simple_Man

Most of the Cement topics I can recall talk about the need for rebar.

I just watched Discovery Channel to see one of the worlds 'largest and strongest' dams being built in Turkey . . and they are using NO rebar.

So is rebar really all that important?  And if so is that dam in Turkey going to collapse?  When?

smokey

i too heard of special cement that dont need rebar but i also heard it was over 50 dollars a sack ... 

Headed that way

Okay, I studied this in college so here is a short course on reinforced concrete.

Concrete is strong in compression and weak in tensile strength. 

Steel (rebar) is weak in compression but strong in tensile strength.

Both have the same modulas of expansion, i.e., it won't rip itself apart from normal expansion and contraction.

Keep the rebar buried several inches under the concrete, tie it in place well with wire ties to prevent it from moving during concrete placement and use the plastic supporters to keep it off the ground.  Use plastic sheeting under the concrete to keep the ground from wicking moisture away from the concrete while it is curing.4

Rebar must be placed in the  proper place, where it will be in tension.   Depending on how the beam is supported, and even slabs of concrete are beams, you might need rebar at the bottom and at the top.  The center of the beam or slab is the neutral axis where there is little tension or compression so don't put rebar in the center.  

Try to have the rebar clean and not rusty before placing and use a concrete vibrator if possible to make sure the concrete is in intimate contact with the rebar for max strength and to prevent rusting.   After the concrete is a day or two old keep it wet constantly and covered to allow the concrete to cure properly.  After 21 days it has cured enough to support itself if you are making a roof or a beam but concrete continues to cure for many years and get harder if water is present.