question about bank to bank wire transfers

hi all,

thanks for the valuable insight on my previous questions on keeping my savings in philippine banks. what i plan to do soon is purchase some property with my wife in cebu. i need to move a chunk of my savings from the USA to the philippines. to do this i want to either wire the money from my bank in the USA to our bank in the philippines, or physically bring a bank check with me to the philippines and then deposit it into my philippine bank. i am far from a financial expert so which method seems safest as far as the money actually being available in my philippine bank acount? i am talking about probably in the amount of at least $60,000 USA. will a philippine bank eventually clear a bank check of that type of amount? if i choose to do a bank to bank wire transfer will that amount pose any problems? does anyone here have recent experience doing a transaction with an amount such as this? from what i gather, a wire transfer is the safest method and larger philippine banks wont screw it up ?:huh:

i gotta be careful as this is my savings and i cant risk any mistakes hehehe. thanks for any suggestions...fred

CaptainJackson
I am far from a financial expert.

I am no financial wizard either.

I would just go to an HSBC office (such as in New York) and open an account.

Keep most of your nest egg in your current bank.

Transfer money to HSBC shortly before you need it, and go to HSBC in Cebu to withdraw funds, or go to ATM's in Cebu for smaller amounts.

This appears to be among the safest ways to handle large amounts of money.

This is just my opinion and it's what I plan to do in the future.

The big difference between wire transfers and depositing a check is that a US check will take about 3-4 weeks to clear. I have no idea why. A wire transfer will take a day or two. it'll probably cost you about 5-10 dollars. check with both the sending or receiving banks.

• 2 weeks later...