Sign in to follow this  
A_Simple_Man

Snake under my step

A_Simple_Man

I have a snake living under my front door sidewalk.  I saw it when I was heading out the door and stopped quick because I know there are cobras in the area.  Unfortunately I am not an expert but my wife looked at it and said it is definitely a cobra.

Its between 2 and 3 feet long (approximately 2 1/2) and its the thickness of a small garden hose.  Color is mainly black with a yellow head.  It hides extremely well in the grass but I got a good look at it as it crossed the sidewalk and went underneath.  Have not got a picture yet so I searched the net to see if I could find a likeness and the nearest I could find was a picture that Paul posted some time back,.  It looks like this picture but the neck is not all puffed out.  The snake was ignoring me so not acting at all threatened.  Unfortunately it would be very easy for the darn thing to come in under the door as it is not a tight fit and it has me concerned.  Here is the pic Paul took that looks a lot like 'my' snake except mine looks pretty (would look prettier from a long long distance though):

gallery_1_99_1195.jpg

So the wife is repeating kill it, kill it every 5 minutes but I don't even know how I am going to get it to com out from under the sidewalk.  All I know is, if its a cobra like she thinks (and even if its not actually) I don't want it under my step.

Options?

battleborn

Buy a Flute?

• Like 8

smokey

hire someone else to do it...

• Like 5

spooks

"It looks like this picture but the neck is not all puffed out.  The snake was ignoring me so not acting at all threatened"

annoy it and if the ribs at the neck end puff out it is a Cobra, probably common asiatic, yes they are venemous.

• Like 1

MrSuave

All the cobras I've seen on Leyte were black with yellow stripes on the side. I've seen four (4).

• Like 1

State Trooper