Windows 8

MattFromGA

I work in the software development industry and have been in it since CPM and 8" floppy drives. I worked with the big iron from IBM and used PCs where the 16k ram extension pack was an amazing increase of memory but required its own power supply.

Windows 8 is coming along to be a great OS. At its core is a leaner/faster version of Windows 7. Boot times are much faster, stability is there, and support for various hardware out of the box is amazing given its just a consumer preview (beta release).

The more I use Windows 8, the more I like its new metro interface, which threw me off at first because common things like closing an application had changed.

I'm somewhat sensitive to getting caught up in liking a product because I've grown comfortable with the familiar. I'm also very sensitive to taking on emotional decisions driven by marketing and conversation with peers who are driven by marketing. Believe me, the marketing and positioning done by companies like Apple, Microsoft, Oracle and others is a powerful influence. Once respected people buy into a position, lemming types are easily herded into the same mindset.

I believe Windows 8 tablets have a good chance of dominating the market over the next few years, but its still trying to predict the future and only fools truly believe they are relatives to Nostradamus. With Steve Jobs 6 feet under, its hard to say how sweet Apples future is. However, there is a strong backlash against Microsoft. I regularly meet tech people who just dont like the company and as a result they would never like anything Microsoft does. For those types, it really doesnt matter how good Windows 8 is. Because of the lemmings and herd mentalities, it is very possible that the better product looses out.