Cebu Rapidly Becoming Less Safe ?

Ok, I have 7 years of experience in Cebu, and for the first 6 years never, ever

had a problem anytime day or night.

Within the last year or less, I see that the beggars are becoming much more

aggressive and confrontational.

Last night, about 9pm, in front of Robinsons, I was surrounded by 3 teen boys

grabbing at my pockets. My shouting at them and pushing them away

only had the effect of them laughing and running away.

It used to be that I only had to say ayaw (don't), and they would leave me alone.

A beggar asking or saying anything doesn't really bother me. I just walk away.

But, the beggars are getting more physically aggresive by either grabbing you,

or you catch them with their hand in your pocket.

Over the past few months I have had to pull many beggars hands out of my pockets

or away from any packages I am carrying.

The common demoninator seems to be teen boys that appear to be high on shabu

or Rugby (glue).

Of course, there is the Fuente police station just meters away, but I hate to disturb

their card games or naps. I guess I could grab one of the kids and drag him to the

police station, but would the police even do anything ?

The cynic in me says that I might even get charged for abusing the kid by dragging

him to the station.

I enjoy walking and shopping midtown, and I prefer walking in the evening since

it is not as hot.

I have a buddy that is my neighbor, and he has been experiencing the same confrontational

and aggressive teens also. My buddy and I can work well as a team chasing off the thiefs,

but we are not always walking Fuente on the same nights.

So, what to do ? Any suggestions ? Mace has occured to me, but what are the consequeces

of me (a foreigner) macing these teens ?

Of course I can stop walking Fuente in the evenings, but I really enjoy and need the exercise,

and it does disturb me that I would have to stop an activity that I enjoy.