Looks like I'll be moving to Cebu a little later this year

ZombieSS

Hello,

My name is Jeremy, 33yrs old and I'm most likely going to end up living in Cebu sometime in Sept of this year. I've been taking pay cuts and my current city isn't so good for Jobs (worst in the US right now). I'm an IT Manager/Network Admin/Engineer for my current company and have been given the option to work remotely. I've been trying to find a job outside of the US for around 2 years now and it looks like it's finally happening. I spent 3 weeks in Bicol/Manila in March/April with my Fiance (37yrs old) who is from the Philippines but lives in Hong Kong. Initially I'll just be in the Philippines on a tourist visa but will most likely seek residency after I'm married. I'm currently planning to visit Cebu for about 6 days during the middle of June to do some research on what area to live, try to find some doctors that will continue to write me prescriptions for opiate pain killers that I'm on here due to back problems, etc.

I've been lurking on this forum for a few days and decided I should post because this site has lots of information. I know what I'm planning on doing involves a lot of risk, but I'm up for the adventure and will be keeping my current residence in the US for at least 1 year while figuring things out. When I was on vacation in Bicol I stayed with my GFs family in a small farming village for two weeks. I wasn't sure how I'd adjust to such a change in life style but I had no problems and could have easily stayed a few months living like that. I plan to live a little better than that though but I'm not much of a party person. I really enjoyed the people the most, much more social vs here in Las Vegas where no one knows their neighbors.