Moving to Cebu This Year

Hi all,

My name is Steph, I'm 37, and come from the UK, though I currently live in Tokyo. Yoroshiku!

Earlier this year, I took a very short (2 days!) trip to Cebu to make sure it was for me before I committed myself to moving there. It was, and later this year I'll 'up sticks' and head on back to Mandaue City.

What draws me to Cebu? Well, a couple of things. First off, I work as a writer, so I don't need to live in any particular location thanks to the internet. But writers, as you probably know, make very little money these days. If I live in Cebu, I can write full-time, whereas here in Japan, I have to teach English to supplement my income... and that sucks. Also, there's the appeal of living in a country that speaks so much English. Here in Japan, there's so much that I can't do because I don't speak the language. Third, and perhaps most important for me, is the fact that Cebu has some of the best Arnis/Kali/Eskrima masters in the world. During my visit, I met a few and found them to be friendly and welcoming. I've been into martial arts my whole life (though my first love is, and always will be, bodybuilding). The chance to train with some great teachers is a major draw for me. To be honest, I can't wait to get over there. If it wasn't for circumstances, I would be there now!

Anyway, I'm really glad I found this forum. I came across the Geralyn topics and was really moved by how great the people here are. I hope, when it comes time for me to ask for advice, that you'll be patient with me and help me out a bit. I'll try not to bug you all too much.

In the meantime, salamat for running this cool site.

Best,

Steph.

RogerDuMond

Welcome to the forum.

arkitek toeknee

Welcome to the forum Steph...

I am a true-blue "Mandauehanon" born and raised in the city of Mandaue. I am glad to know that you will choose the city of my birth as you will settle here in the Philippines.