seeking smale-scale investment advice

As I mentioned in my profile, I am coming to Cebu shortly to meet a woman I met online. It is my first time in the Philippines but I am no stranger to SE Asia and foreign cultures (in many ways I prefer them to my own) and I am trying to "hit the ground running" as much as possible. In the sense that I will try in the month that I am there, to at least come up with a business plan that will allow me to live there more or less permanently by next year.

At any rate, she and I have already discussed ways to make money there and assuming we hit it off, her idea is to open an internet cafe in a town of 15,000 where there is already at least one. I would like to really explore all options before handing over the 100,000 PHP she says it will take to get the cafe up and running. My gut tells me this will hardly support us, let alone her family but I really dont' know enough about how things work there to judge it yet. I am a hands-on guy, a carpenter and fisherman among other things, and would love to find a business I could run that is in some way related to what I already do for work. If the business is able to provide employment for local people, at a decent wage, even more attractive! Ok, I'm a little bit idealistic at this stage, forgive me please.

So anyone like me out there, early 40s, not yet retired, looking to slowly but steadily build up a business there with minimal (read less than $10,000 USD) investment?