Sign in to follow this  
Mailman

Exhaust venting feedback requested

Mailman

Hiya all. I am by no means an expert on anything and usually stumble my way through just about everything I do. I am hoping some of you experts can give me some feedback on this project.

We plan on extending the back of our house all the way to the property line. As it is to be a firewall, all of the rooms sharing that rear wall (2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms) will no longer have windows.

To prevent the air in these rooms (especially the bathrooms!) from stagnating with hot, humid air, I am thinking of running some duct work between the roof and the ceiling panels along the back wall to which all of the affected rooms will be connected by way of ceiling-mounted exhaust fans. The ducting will either run up and through the roof ending in a turbine ventilator or straight out the side of the house with a larger fan to help draw the air out. Perhaps this fan will be solar-powered since it will run practically all of the time. All of the ceiling-mounted exhaust fans will be individually switched on and off as necessary.

We don't have air conditioners nor do we plan on getting any. Our screened windows and doors are usually wide open with the exception of the doors closing at sleepy time and everything being secured when no one is home.

Of what sort of locally available materials can the ductwork consist? I know a place that will fabricate sheet aluminum in whatever configuration I could possible come up with but I am wondering if a larger diameter (4" or 6") PVC tubing (the orange stuff) would work as the main duct? Seems like it would be easier to rig together. Or is that just plain silly?

How large does the main duct actually have to be to efficiently move air? The entire house (pre-extension) is only 80sq m so all the rooms are pretty small.

Do the bathrooms need to have their own seperate ducting or is it okay to share the other rooms' ducting?