Sign in to follow this  
fredanna

Wierd Voltage

fredanna

Hello All

There was a thread somewhere on this forum about weird voltage readings using a volt meter and I cannot go back to reference the outcome for what was finally discovered.

We're here now and I am an electronic tech. I know the Phils is 220 vac, BUT when I connect my digital meter to the socket I read 359 volts. The thread mentioned about the VECO or Phils power distribution and the pole transformer. There is no actual ground, you really get two hot wires..................correct?? When a 220 volt device is connected it sees what it needs and operates.

I remember the thread discussed how the person was reading from one contact of the plug to ground and he was seeing even weirder things.

Can anyone familiar with the Phils electrical system explain again........sorry.

Also, in our condo,we notice the flourescent lights very gently flash or glow even when turned off............!!!!!!!!! So, my thinking is that the wall switch only turns off one of the two hot wires and there is still a voltage on the lamp causing this???????

In the USA the 110 volts is one hot and Neutral which is ground and no voltage whatsoever on that neutral wire.

My brain needs edumacation

TNX

Fred

KennyF

I'm glad you posted this because I was about to throw m DVM out as It gave a 360 reading in a 220v socket.

I have no idea why but I guess someone with RP electrical experience will reply.

Do you mean your fluro lights glow faintly for a little while or than they continue to glow?

KinAC

Headshot