Sign in to follow this  
luther

Serious About Grammar

luther

Hi this is Luther and I study Cebuano Visayan grammar all the time. I like grammar so much my wife thinks I'm crazy. I like grammar so much that I'm not fluent yet because I am studying the grammar in depth so haven't had time to learn many words.

If there is any interest in Cebuano grammar I would join in the discussion. Most people just want a translation or phrases to memorize, but for me what's interesting isn't "How do I say this," but "Why is it said this way?" The rules of grammar are like a game for me.

I saw a post on another forum that said Cebuano has no rules. There might be a language somewhere that has no rules, but Cebuano is not it. This I know because when I say something wrong, guess what? I get blank looks, I am not understood.

If you really want to communicate, for me the way to go about it is not to memorize words and sentences, but to learn how the language is structured. Then, if you learn a few words, you already know how to make sentences that the native speaker will understand.

I would like to correspond with people who share this viewpoint and are not afraid to discuss grammar.

Luther

Torestre

I would like to know where you can find a source for studying the grammar.

I partly agree with you. Grammar is important, but it is not a matter of life and death. You can make your self understood by using only single words without any knowledge of grammar at all. Of course I wouldnt recomend you to throw yourself into complicated philosophical discussions, but you would be able to express your needs. Thats the purpose of any language, to express your needs.

Then the needs changes depending on your circomstances at the moment. They say man cannot live on food alone, and then of course you would need to know grammar B)

luther
I would like to know where you can find a source for studying the grammar.