Sign in to follow this  
smidsy

Electrical Help - Electrician Advice Needed(For An Idiot)

smidsy

dsc0357ka.jpg

Click the pic for massive size.

Im not sure if this is in the correct forum, so Mods, feel free to move it.

Im in need of advice. Im a complete novice when it comes to electricity, except the very basics.

I bought a campervan, which has a deep cycle battery, installed on the cheap, by an admitted novice. I cant critise his work, cause by the looks of it, I wouldnt have a hope of getting as far as he did.

There are several loose wires, in pairs(just black/black, no different colours), around the van, and I have yet to check all the outlets. Its possible that these wires were attached to something, which has since been removed. Or its possible they are just loose wires.

Im assuming, that only by using the invertor(loose on the side of the pic), will it become 240V. And as such, I can play around with the loose wires to find out if they are live??

Also, as you can see from the pic, a fuse has been removed, perhaps thats intentional, or not???

How do I figure this out, without ripping out wires all over the place ??

Is there some kind of cheap tool I can get to test, will it work on 12V?

Does 12V appliances(chargers and the like), have positive & negative, does it matter?

How can I figure out if the deep charge battery is charging correctly, and if there's anything I need to fix?

Iv never seen a battery with 4 terminals, can I assume that everything on the 2 left terminals(one is blue) is negative, and everything on the right terminals(one is red) is positive?

Im going to be on the road for probably 6 months, so id like to learn the layout now, to make repairs/upgrades easier when I need to do them.

Edited by smidsy

Paul
http://yfrog.com/0ndsc0357kaj - link to pic, which can be zoomed into.

Click the pic for massive size.

Im not sure if this is in the correct forum, so Mods, feel free to move it.