Opening a bank account.

Jimone

Hi all, 

I have a thorny question; first, some context, my wife and I live in Australia; I am an Australian by birth, and my wife is a dual citizen of the Philippines and Australia. We have a BPI account in both names for our home loan at the moment. We are moving to Brazil to work for a Canadian based company in the mining field, and the company is happy to pay my wage into any account. So I wonder if we open an account in my wife's name in the Philippines, we can have my pay deposited into that account and keep it separate from our Australian bank accounts. We will not be citizens of Australia or the Philippines for tax purposes. What will she need to bring to open an account, and does anyone think it will be a problem? Also, what bank would be best?

Thanks in advance for any replies.

• Like 1
Chris24

Bottom line up front:  I am not a tax expert, but it seems highly unlikely that between Australia, Brazil, Canada and the Philippines, one or more countries don't have tax claims on your and your wife's income.  Of course having a claim and finding out about the income aren't the same thing.

I would not have your and your wife's wages paid into the same account, your situations (and corresponding potential pitfalls) are different and keeping the money separate is probably a prudent step to take to preserve a good audit trail and avoid unnecessarily entangling both spouses into one spouse's potential tax issue.  Maybe even set up a special account for each of you in just your individual names to receive your individual wages. 

You might double-check with the employer in Canada to confirm what source country they consider to apply for the wages to be paid, and who they report it to, and then you might check with an Australian and/or Philippine tax attorney.  The Australian Tax Authority website says that generally, Australian residents are taxed on their worldwide income.  (it uses the term residents rather than citizens) .