Most convenient bank in Philippines??

the chimp

Hi,I'm a newbie to the forum but not to Philippines.Wondering if anyone can tell what the best bank here for receiving money transfers,or SS payments from US is.Also maybe with the best ATM network? I walked into Metrobank yesterday to inquire,and they looked at me like I was an alien....Also tried to get into a supermarket,the guard told me We needed quarantine passes from the barangay hall,located about 1 kilometer away.We walked the 1K,inquired about the pass, they didn't know WTF we were talking about.I haven't been here for about 5 yrs,somewhat hopeful that things here had changed ???? NOPE!!! Doing my best to keep that smile on my face!!!  

Edited by the chimp
added more info to post
BossHog

BDO, BPI, and PNB are solid local choices.

The first has probably the most machines, the second has the highest per transaction ATM limit, the third is my favorite because the manager at my local branch has big hooters and is flirty.

Tits aside, branches of the same bank do vary wildly here and it takes a bit of trial and error to find one that's switched on and accommodating . If the bank acts disinterested just walk on; I'd say it's just as important to find a well-operated branch as it is the right bank.

Edited by BossHog
  • Like 2
  • Administrator
Dafey

Welcome Chimp

1 hour ago, the chimp said:

they looked at me like I was an alien

Actually, you are!

My understanding is that once you set up a bank the monthly transfer takes about a month. We pretty much live hand to mouth so we need our check when it is ready.

I always suggest that Americans open a Schwab 1 checking account. You can do it online and they send you an ATM card. You can use that anywhere in the world and Schwab will refund any fees the ATMs charge you. You can have your SS and any other payments Direct Deposited to your Schwab account

1 hour ago, the chimp said: