jaybee747

How can a Filipino invest in US low cost mutual funds?

jaybee747

How can a Filipino invest in US low cost mutual funds? If anyone have a personal experience in this I will be glad to hear, thanks!

Jawny

https://www.securitybank.com/personal/investments/unit-investment-trust-funds/

https://www.moneymax.ph/personal-finance/articles/investments-beginners-philippines-1000/

I used your sentence and this is the first two things google provided. Good luck. 

Whoops, I just realized you were inquiring about US mutual funds.  Google may help.  I have no experience just did a search.

Edited by Jawny

Cgu

I assume you want to invest in USD (as US mutual funds are denominated in USD). Best is to use a US based online broker. I recommend IB (interactive brokers). Just open an account (and the requirements that go with it - normally everything can be done online), transfer money and choose your mutual fund  - vanguard funds in my opinion have the lowest costs  (however, ETF have lower costs, if you are after low cost). 

That's it. 

Bama
2 hours ago, jaybee747 said:

How can a Filipino invest in US low cost mutual funds?

Which ever fund your Filipino friend might choose I would recommend being prepared to be in the market long term with it's many ups and downs. If he can't invest without pushing his finances (meaning he might have to withdraw early) then he probably should wait until he can. Just my opinion.

• Like 4

lamoe
3 hours ago, jaybee747 said:

How can a Filipino invest in US low cost mutual funds? If anyone have a personal experience in this I will be glad to hear, thanks!

Sometimes better to be generic rather than specific when using Google

https://pocketsense.com/can-foreign-investors-buy-mutual-funds-3468.html