Jester

water pump and storage tank

Jester

Down to last project for this trip.  Long story,  barangy and house is fed by artisan well a couple kilometers up the mountain.  2 years ago had low gravity fed pressure but adequate flow to take a shower most of the time..

During the last 2 years the galvanized 3 inch pipe was damaged and replaced with 3 inch plastic pipe.  Now have low pressure and far less supply of water.  Rarely can use the shower and often the water just dribbles out of the faucet.

Local expert wants to add a pump and storage tank.   I have no experience in this area,  it seems a pump at times would be sucking air and no or little  water and might not last long?  I think a well would be best as we are almost next to a river so could be shallow, but small lot and little room to put one in.

I have looked over the area that was repaired but see nothing that would cause a restriction.

So I am in over my head here and do not trust the locals,  so any and all input is greatly appreciated.  Not even sure what questions to ask?

Jawny

I have a similar situation and plan to use a storage tank to fill as a backup supply.  The Barangay has source, but is unreliable. Mostly due to poor maintenance.  This source we use as a backup to our own well.  We use the Barangay water for gardening, laundry and dish washing.  When it is low or unavailable we use our well water.  Typically the well we have is for our showers and toilets.

My plan is to use an existing tank we have, presently unused.  I would set up a cistern (correct term?) to capture water and then pump that to the tank for use.  This would be done manually so no issues with sucking air.  

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

to_dave007
Posted (edited)

It's not sucking "air" that would bother me, but sucking the dirty water that will surround the pipe in some locations.