hilyfe

Is it worth it using off grid solar kit

Or

solar generator in philippines

Where to buy solar panels in philippines?

• Like 1

Dafey

How much electric do you need? What appliances and for how many hours a day?

I'm not an engineer but I'm sure these questions need to answered first to figure out if the investment is economical.

How much is your electric bill now?

Daddle

I will probably use some solar in our new home. We are at the end of the powerline with frequent “brown outs”. It will be just enough to power a few LED lights, a fan, security cameras, internet and charge the phones. I have long time experience with this on my sailboat. I’ll use plain old deep cycle lead-acid batteries. About 400 Amp-hours worth, a simple solar controller, about 400 Watts of panels, and where possible use 12 Volt lights and fans. A small inverter can run the little things if necessary.

Expect it to run things for a few days. We don’t keep much truely perishable food, if any, in the fridge, so an icebox can stand-in for that power hog.

I will tell the Asawa that there is not enough power for the TV so I can get a few pleasant hours of relief from screaming and sobbing on the Tele-Serialies.

• Like 6
  • Haha 1

Dafey

Sounds like you already have a pretty good grip on what your needs are. And if you are willing to go without some conveniences your needs are not huge.

To answer your original question, with frequent brown outs you may be best going with a solar array. Our electric is pretty stable in western Leyte so we chose a gas generator for the few times we need it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like 1

SkyMan