More questions...

JackJohnson

The warnings about "not looking like you have money" sunk in to the point where I had planned to wear just

jeans and t-shirts, was going to leave my watch at home(and then ask everybody about the time all day long)

and even buy some throw away cameras so they don't lift my Canon.

I don't have money, so it isn't too hard for me to play the part of someone who doesn't have money.

However, now that I think about it, if I meet the ladies looking like some kind of homeless person,

I'm not likely to make a very good impression.

Oh, when I talk about my watch I don't mean a Rolex! I'm just a lowly teacher.

I'm talking about a high end Seiko.

What do you guys think?

Since I am traveling alone I understand that I need to be cautious,

but there's cautious and then there's paranoid...

Steve

Dress average. Before my first trip, my mom wanted to but me a few Nike branded shirts and I told her no. I just wore average clothes, nothing expensive. Besides, it's not me anyway. As for a watch, I haven't wore one in 17 years, I've always had a cell phone. Just watch wearing things like a necklace as someone could walk by and just snatch it from you. Overall, there was never a point where I didn't feel safe being there. Just be street smart in what you wear, do, talk about, etc.

BTW, how long are you staying for?

JackJohnson
Dress average. Before my first trip, my mom wanted to but me a few Nike branded shirts and I told her no. I just wore average clothes, nothing expensive. Besides, it's not me anyway. As for a watch, I haven't wore one in 17 years, I've always had a cell phone. Just watch wearing things like a necklace as someone could walk by and just snatch it from you. Overall, there was never a point where I didn't feel safe being there. Just be street smart in what you wear, do, talk about, etc.

BTW, how long are you staying for?

Two weeks, broken up by Manila, Cebu, and Davao. That was the plan, except two of my penpals