BossHog

Corn Dogs

BossHog

Being Sunday and all, and since the wife bought a new videoke system yesterday, we decided to invite all the nephews and nieces over for a party. I'm told I'll be doing the food.

And thought...um,,,,corn dogs!

So far have gathered 5 kilos of the Virginia Classic Jumbos...a bunch of the long bamboo bbq sticks (will have to clip the sharp ends off) and sent my driver off to buy two kilos of corn grits. I guess that's close enough to cornmeal. Should I whiz the grits in the blender?

and found an Internet recipe: cornmeal, flour, baking powder, sugar, egg, s&p, and milk for the batter.

Got some yellow ball park mustard and Del Monte  and also banana ketchup. And a few cases of RC Cola liters.

This is my first time to make corn dogs. Anyone got some corn dog tips? Do Filipino kids even like mustard? Should I double the recipe's sugar content? Maybe slice open the dogs and lard them with slices of that quick melt cheddar crap. I'm open to ideas. I've seen corn dogs with french fries in the batter but that might be a bit complex for a first effort,  haha.

What else would you serve to go along? Wish we could buy whole pickles here.

Anywhoo, have a happy Sunday everyone!

• Like 3

Dafey
47 minutes ago, BossHog said:

Should I double the recipe's sugar content?

Yes!

48 minutes ago, BossHog said:

Anyone got some corn dog tips?

Be very careful when you poke your dog with a stick!

50 minutes ago, BossHog said:

Do Filipino kids even like mustard?

I can't wait to hear....

51 minutes ago, BossHog said:

Maybe slice open the dogs and lard them with slices of that quick melt cheddar crap

If you have chunks of cheddar spear those and dip them in the batter and then the deep fry

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

CardiacKid