Sign in to follow this  
wondersailor

Student Driver's Permit?

wondersailor

I was told today by my local LTO office,,that with a valid US license, that I would be eligible for only a student's driving permit. That even though I have been driving for 49 years that's is the only driving permit available to me. In 6 months, I would be allowed to take both the written and driving tests. Anyone else faced this? I just always knew that my never having a vehicular accident nor moving violation would one day pay off! My one consern is how do I learn to drive as recklessly as a Filipino in only 6 months?

Woolf

That should be wrong

One have to be careful how to ask

What kind of visa do you have ?

Did you ask for a conversion ?

• Like 1

wondersailor

That was told over the phone. Tomorrow morning I am going into the office. The hardest thing for me will be to keep my cool no matter the idiocy.

Woolf
3 minutes ago, wondersailor said:

The hardest thing for me will be to keep my cool no matter the idiocy.

Do NOT show that attitude when you are there 

• Like 2

wondersailor
4 minutes ago, Woolf said:

Do NOT show that attitude when you are there 

I know, I know. I will do my best! Thanks for the link. May have to head to a different immigration office as Davao will not extend my visa at all until one week before the current one expires.

Woolf

From LTO site

http://www.lto.gov.ph/license-permit-issuance/284-non-professional-driver-s-license.html

1. NEW APPLICATION/CONVERSION

Duly Accomplished Application for Driver's License (ADL);

Valid SP issued at least thirty (30) days from date of application;

Medical Certififcate issued by any licensed practicing physician stating that the applicant is physically and mentally fit to operate a motor vehicle or otherwise stating his/her impairment; and