going to cebu living on the edge

seattle2cebu

seattle2cebu

Im going to cebu in late april or may.. I will have around 4000 dollars if im lucky.. I should be getting another

3000 in june.

Ive done the research on rent and basic living expenses.

I remember when I was there I bought a cooked whole pig.. lechon for a picnic..

Is it possible I could cook meat there and sell it. My girlfriend doesnt speak much english and thats really

been frustrating for me. She said she would help me of course.

Im not talking about making a lot of money. Im just wanting to do something to slow down the bleeding.

I will be taking an english certification class in cebu also if I dont start it here first. ESL teaching

I dont know what my odds are on getting a job teaching english. I have a lot of call center experience as well.

Any comments on my cooking meat and meat snacks etc?? how about getting a little catering gig here and there?

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• seattle2cebu

• smokey

• spooks

• Penguin

wish you good luck, but just in case have enough to buy a return ticket back home, hopefully you wont need it but just in case

You will just have to compete with the other 4000++ businesses doing the same thing around every corner. Depends on the product and your ability to market it.

Teaching jobs are available, especially in the call centers where they need trainers to hone the english skills of the Filipinos. But the pay is not going to be great. P20- 45K. The higher paying teaching jobs are in the Korean schools.

Edited by Bob Ward
World Traveller

I really want things to work out for you but the fact you have nothing set up to help with your support and your g/f has very limited English i think the return ticket is a good idea. Sorry to seem negative but i have lived in the Philippines and there are not many jobs worth talking about....

Edited by keysey
KeithAngel