rep1

May need one soon. I have never used those before as heavy workstation/gaming type is preferred for work.

will not buy here but maintenance will definitely be needed. Not looking for specific model but brands, series and opinions on their international support service and reliability.

I found a few choices:

- MacBook/air/pro, potential issue: swollen battery (and they had callback!)

- Dell XPS line. some had swollen battery too. why? usually laptop battery just dies peacefully.

- ASUS Zenbook. cheapest. no obvious issue.

Of all three ASUS is straightforward about global warranty. Dell's might be troublesome? Is Apple okay with that? There seems to be more apple shops and service centers than any others.

Other brands? HP spectre is no good as I need 16GB RAM. 

SkyMan

I've recently been doing a lot of searching for laptops in the US and have not heard the term Ultrabook.  What does that mean?  Or mean to you anyway.  

I was rather disappointed that I wasn't able to find a laptop with similar features to the one I bought 2 years ago for similar price.  It seems to me the industry has stagnated.

DeedleNuts

I recently got a modestly configured Dell XPS 13 2 in 1 convertible, and I love it. Cost was under $1000 too. Thing is admirably light, has extremely good battery life (or it's powered by fission, hard to tell) - all around very good. 

Depends on what you need I guess.

Dell-XPS-13-2-in-1-Laptop-4.jpg

41VAFX2t-rL.jpg

xps-15-2in1-open-1200x799.jpg

44 minutes ago, SkyMan said:

I've recently been doing a lot of searching for laptops in the US and have not heard the term Ultrabook.  What does that mean? 

Essentially a PC competitor for a MacBook. Slim, elegant, useful, without the goopy OSX mess smeared all over it. 

• Like 1

rep1
16 minutes ago, DeedleNuts said: