• Commercial Banner Advertisers

Sign in to follow this  
Kahuna

42,000 Match Sphere Gets Lit

Kahuna

What happens when you start gluing matches together? Because the heads are slightly wider than the wooden bodies, they begin to form a sphere. This was an experiment in how many matches it would take to get all the way around to make a perfect globe. After months of gluing and gluing

• Like 7
  • Thanks 1

Alfred E. Neuman

Looked like the Sun for a brief moment.

ahoy53

Someone has way to much time on their hands lol

• Like 1

Travis

This reminds me of that one time.

So I used to be a bar manager. They were fun times with lots of fighting and fu*king going on. A good night had lots of both.

Any way I always worked night shift like a good bar manager should.  I hired circuit bands from as far away as Alaska and New york. The nights were hopping the bands were rocking and the fights were often. Boredom never came to this bar . That is until I had to go in one day and work the dreaded day shift. Talk about a long boring day with nothing to do. Or was it?

This bar was in a hotel and the lobby was  located directly outside the bar doors. The doors were always propped open so the guests could see in to the bar.  Day shift got the occasional guest poking their head in the door to see what the bar looked like and once in a while a coffee drinker would come in to socialize and clear the cobwebs from the night before. Other than that it was eight hours of utter hell. It ranked up there with watching paint dry 

During my day shift I got the wise idea to cut the heads off of a few thousand wooden matches. I spent some hours chopping just the head of the wooden match off. I threw the wooden stick part in the garbage and kept the match heads. I cut and cut until I had a black plastic ashtray mounded up with thousands of tiny match heads. This was pre smoking ban era so matches and ashtrays were common place in the bar business.