richard_ost

What do Cebuanos think of Manilans?

richard_ost

I've been travelling to the Philippines for several years, but only for the past 2 years I've visited Visays only a few times. Most of my trips before were in Northern Luzon (Baguio, La Union and Ilocos).

Not knowing about the mentality of people in Visays, feels to me that they don't care much about Tagalog or Luzon (Manila). Is that the case or what? What are the culture differences between people from Cebu and Manila? To me it seems that people here (Cebu City) have slightly slower pace in life than people in Metro Manila.

Also - not to get too political because this is not the correct subforum - people seem to like DU30 here a lot more, and seem to like also the current mayor. People I've talked with don't appreciate the last mayor before Osmeña. Is that the case?

Headshot

I doubt that Cebuanos think very much about people from Manila at all. As far as Duterte, there is more evidence of support here now than there was even during the election. I have no idea how that compares to attitudes in Manila, but I would suspect that people in Manila are more comfortable having one of their own in office. There is no doubt that Duterte is considered an outsider in Manila. On Osmena verses Rama in Cebu City, that battle will go on for years, I suspect. Both camps are fairly strong, but neither seems to be that much different as to what they actually do (or don't do). They just have different allies and different approaches to doing nothing. Government here is designed to impede rather than help citizens and other residents. I doubt that will ever change. If it does, then you will see less corruption, less complicated processes and better services provided to the people.

• Like 2

Jim Sibbick

When I tell Filipinos from Cebu that I am going to Manila, they tell me don't go. Manila is a dirty unsafe place.