• Announcements

• Paul

New Members: Click Here   03/09/2017

Hello. If you are a new member, and feel a bit apprehensive about posting in the "open" forums, or, just wish to get your "sea legs" prior to posting in the open forums, feel free to post anything you wish to talk about, in the Newbies Forum. No one will bother you, or give you any sort of grief. Everyone there is happy to help you get answers to your questions.
  • Commercial Banner Advertisers

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

24 posts in this topic

My sausage making weekend went well. I made over 30 meters of sausages in 4 different types and 2 different sizes. Please keep in mind that I’m not an expert. I’ve only been making sausages for 2 years and continue to make mistakes.

Kielbasa (Polish)

3 pounds lean pork butt

1 pound lean beef chuck

0.5 pounds veal

0.5 pounds pork fat

Grind and mix all the meat together. Don’t overgrind though as the consistency will not be correct. Grind once only. In lieu of grinding, just buy ground pork and beef. If cannot find veal, just use beef.

2.5 teaspoons salt

3 teaspoons finely ground black pepper

2 teaspoons ground marjoram

2 teaspoons ground summer savory

0.5 teaspoons ground allspice

3 cloves of garlic (finely minced)

2 tablespoons sweet paprika

Ghost Pepper (with or without duck)

3 pounds lean pork butt

½ pound pork fat

1 pound duck

2 tablespoons dried minced onions

1 tablespoon Ghost pepper (finely ground) AKA Bhut Jolokia

1 tablespoons garlic (finely minced)

1/3 teaspoon Thyme (or marjoram or savory)

1 tablespoon finely chopped parsley

1 bay leaf (crushed fine)

½ teaspoon paprika (hot)

1 teaspoon black pepper

½ teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons red wine vinegar

2 tablespoons red pepper (hot)

2 cups of various mushrooms (diced)

Northern Italian

5 pounds ground pork (75% meat / 25% pork fat)

1 cup cold red wine

1 cup chopped fresh parsley

5 tsp salt

1 tablespoon garlic powder or 4-5 garlic cloves finely minced