JohnSurrey

BPI Prepaid Master Card

I have a BPI prepaid master card (like a credit card but is limited to the balance on the card)...

In the UK I have additional rights when I pay for something by credit card 

Credit card payment protection

If you use your credit card to buy something, such as goods or a holiday, costing over £100 and up to £30,000, you’re covered by ‘section 75’ of the Consumer Credit Act.

This means the credit card company has equal responsibility (or ‘liability’) with the seller if there’s a problem with the things you’ve bought or the company you’ve bought them from fails.

Problems that are covered

The company has failed to supply the goods or services, or has supplied goods not up to standard, or
The company has misrepresented what it is supplying - for example, a software supplier says a software package you’re buying will work with a particular computer when it doesn’t.

I'm just wondering do I have additional rights against a seller when I use my BPI master card here?

Thanks

The rights you have in the UK are because of UK legislation- not because of BPI. I'm going to go way out on a limb here and tell you the answer to your question is NFW !!  Hahaha

Edited by Davaoeno
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

I read there is very little if no protection at all, and Citibank even offers insurance for card loss (only 24 or 48 hours).

What if you take any dispute to Master instead of BPI? Would BPI block it?

• Thanks 1

I have Pockit MasterCard issued in the UK, same as your card the limit is whatever I've loaded onto it.  I use it here frequently and get a very fair exchange rate with no other fees or charges, whether I'd be covered by UK legislation here I don't know.

• Thanks 1